Coastguard Volunteers Recognised at NZSAR Awards

Shane Beech - Coastguard Maketu, Murray Miskelly - Coastguard Northland Air Patrol, Lynn Stuart - Coastguard Wanaka Lakes and Steve Binns and Gregor Staley from Coastguard Mackenzie Lakes have been recognised at the prestigious New Zealand Search and Rescue Council awards held in Parliament on Tuesday 24 May.

Shane Beech from Coastguard Maketu (above) was awarded a Certificate of Achievement – Support Activity, for his commitment and services to search and rescue. Shane has been president of the unit for eight years as well as senior operational crew and has led a number of projects that have seen the building of Eastpack Rescue, the units rescue vessel and its berthing facility. Shane’s passion for the betterment of the community also sees him work with Youth in Emergency Services (YES) which encourages and strengthens the ties that youth have with their community through volunteering with emergency services.

Murray Miskelly from Coastguard Northern Air Patrol (above) was awarded a Certificate of Achievement – Support Activity, and has contributed over 200 volunteer hours to search and rescue services for Coastguard and participated in every unit training operation. Murray spends a significant amount of time with non-pilot members ensuring they have a thorough understanding of basic operations in the aircraft with helps with joint search and rescue operations.

Lynn Stuart of Coastguard Wanaka Lakes (above) received a Certificate of Achievement – Support Activity. He is a Master at his unit and his extensive involvement with training and search and rescue operations has seen him dedicate 175 hours to keep the community safe. He runs the new recruits induction programme which has delivered exceptional results, and regularly carries out maintenance and repairs on rescue assets. He is an outstanding leader who leads by example.

Steve Binns and Gregor Staley from Coastguard Mackenzie Lakes (rescue vessel and volunteers pictured above) received a Certificate of Achievement – Operational Activity, for the rescue of a group of kayakers on Lake Tekapo. They worked in a collaborated search and rescue effort with Tekapo Helicopters, LandSAR Mackenzie and Lake Tekapo Volunteer Fire Brigade to rescue and recover a group of 11 kayakers heading out to Motuariki Island.

Murray, Shane, Lynn, Steve and Gregor have made a huge contribution to Coastguard and search and rescue services in general. Their dedication and encouragement is infectious and epitomizes the volunteer ethos. Together they have saved countless lives and motivated many others to become Coastguard volunteers. We are extremely proud that their achievements have been recognized at the NZSAR Awards and it’s a fitting tribute to be recognised alongside other vital search and rescue organisations – we are extremely proud of volunteers who dedicate so many hours to keeping their communities safe,“ said Patrick Holmes, CEO, Coastguard New Zealand.

For more information contact:

Monique Caddy
National Communications Manager
Coastguard New Zealand
M: 021 420 653

  • Hutchwilco
  • Lotteries Grants Board
  • NZCT
  • Lion Foundation
  • Pub Charity
  • Century Batteries
  • Bellingham Wallace
  • Soudal