Coastguard Boating Education & Regional Boards

Coastguard’s regional offices and Coastguard Boating Education are governed by independent boards, as follows: 

Coastguard Boating Education Board

John Cowan - Chairperson

Brooke Archbold, MNZM

Alan Haddock QSO

Katie McNabb

Chris van der Hor


Coastguard Regional Boards

Coastguard Northern Region 

Graham Brown - President

Ron Lucca - Immediate Past President

Marcus Blosch

Neil Bradley

Wally Hawken

Guy Hornblow

Bennett Medary

Brian Whimp


Coastguard Eastern Region

Gary van der Werff - Chairperson

Juliet Clarke

Rex Harrison

Kevin Winters


Coastguard Central Region

John Linn - Chairperson

Peter Kara - Vice Chairperson

Jan Bisman 

Trevor Burgess

Rob Faulke

Mark Nicholls

Sara Treadgold


Coastguard Southern Region  

Richard Landon-Lane - Chairperson

Jonathan Welsh - Vice Chairperson

Cherie Leckner

Ray Maw

Ross McKenzie

Carolyn Tapley

Jonathan Walmisley

Donate now

Coastguard is a charity. Our volunteers need your help to save lives at sea.

Donate Now

Become a Member

Peace of mind every time you hit the water, knowing we’ve got your back.

Find out how to become a member

Book a Course

Increase your knowledge and confidence by completing a boating course.

Book a boating course
  • Hutchwilco
  • Lotteries Grants Board
  • NZCT
  • Lion Foundation
  • Pub Charity
  • Century Batteries
  • Bellingham Wallace